Supply Chain School

Please select the country that you would like to have more advice on

BIM Dimensions

A common misconception around BIM has to do with its dimensions. The dimensions are different than the BIM maturity levels. BIM dimensions are inextricably connected to the type of data that can become available through the process. They can be found both in BIM Level 2 and Level 3.

In a nutshell, there are four types of BIM dimensions:

3D: It refers to 3D generated drawings, at this stage you are at just Level 1 BIM.
4D: adds project time management to the model 
5D: adds project cost data to the model
6D: adds Facilities Management of the building in use to the model

Level 2 requires 3D plus time and cost data to be used, Level 3 BIM requires the link to building management, known as 6D.

Benchmark your BIM maturity with our assessment tool

Confused by BIM terminology?
Why not have a look at our BIM Level 2 and Jargon Buster pages.