× Search
Log In Sign Up

National Highways: Lower Thames Crossing (LTC)

National Highways Website

The Lower Thames Crossing is the most ambitious road scheme since the M25, linking Kent, Thurrock and Essex and will consist of:

  • Approximately 14.5 miles (23km) of new roads connecting the tunnel to the existing road network.
  • Connection between the A2/M2, A13 and M25.
  • New structures and changes to existing ones (including bridges, buildings, tunnel entrances, viaducts and utilities such as electricity pylons) along the length of the new road.
  • Two 2.5-mile (4km) tunnels, one for southbound traffic, one for northbound traffic crossing beneath the river.
  • A free-flow charging system, where drivers do not need to stop but pay remotely, similar to that at the Dartford Crossing.

Lower Thames Crossing also advises companies and individuals to undertake the following additional National Highways E-Learning Modules:

All companies and individuals interested in the Lower Thames Crossing project are encouraged to learn more about the National Highways approach to sustainability and net zero. These are clearly presented in the National Highways Sustainability E-learning Module.

National Highways: Procure to Pay (P2P) E-Learning Module 

National Highways: Forecasting E-Learning Module

National Highways: Anti-Economic Crime E-Learning Module

Find out more about the Lower Thames Crossing

Suppliers and sub-contractors can access resources and recordings of training sessions offered so far below:

2022 Resources and Recordings
Click here
2023 Resources and Recordings
Click here