× Search
Log In Sign Up

Event Recap: Supply Chain Sustainability School 10th Anniversary Summit

Published 23rd Jun 22 - by Gemma Laws

On Tuesday 21st June, the Supply Chain Sustainability School held its 10 Year Anniversary Summit in Coventry Building Society Arena. Attended by hundreds of sustainability experts from across the built environment industry, the Summit provided a chance to celebrate the past decade of collaboration as well as look forward to future challenges and opportunities.

Summit attendees watch the Supply Chain Sustainability School 10th Anniversary film

The Summit kicked off with the premiere of the School’s 10th Anniversary film, featuring interviews with School board members as well as thought leaders from the built environment industry. This was then followed by a welcome message from Shaun McCarthy OBE, the School Chair

Throughout the day, attendees heard from the School’s Board Members as well as various industry thought leaders. This included Ruth Todd CBE (HS2), Mark Farmer (Cast Consultancy), Liz Holford (Network Rail) and Jonathon Porritt (sustainability campaigner and writer).

Liz Holford (Network Rail) addresses the audience on delivering our social value challenge.

Subject matter experts from Action Sustainability held interactive breakout sessions focused on three core themes: net zero carbon, social value and future challenges. The slide decks for these sessions can be found below. Attendees also had plenty of opportunities to network and socialise throughout the day.

James Cadman (Action Sustainability) delivers a breakout session on designing and procuring for low carbon.

In the evening, the event concluded with an awards ceremony (sponsored by Bouygues Energies & Services) followed by a drinks and networking session. These awards recognised individuals and organisations that have been highly engaged with the School over the past decade. See below for the full list of winners:

  1. Members Award: Janice Johnson (Briggs Amasco)
  2. Members Award: Paul Aldridge (WJ Group)
  3. Members Award: Nigel Ostime (Hawkins Brown)
  4. Supply Chain Collaboration Award: National Highways Regional Delivery Partnership
  5. Outstanding Personal Contribution: Graham Edgell (Morgan Sindall)
  6. Outstanding Personal Contribution: Wendy Carwardine (Action Sustainability)

Thank you to everyone who attended the Summit for helping to make it such an engaging and inspiring event. Stay tuned for additional photos, videos and insights from the event.

Anniversary Summit Feedback

Did you attend the Summit? Your feedback is important to us. Please take 2 minutes to fill out our anonymous online Summit Feedback form – this helps us to improve any future Supply Chain Sustainability School events.

Breakout Session Presentations

Click on the links below to view and save the presentation slide decks used during the different breakout room sessions from the Summit (view the programme to see which breakout rooms correspond with which breakout sessions):